What the @#!% is a Pescetarian and why the $*@# would I want to be one?

What is a Pescetarian, anyways?

“Pescetarianism, or pesco-vegetarianism, means being vegetarian while still including seafood in your diet. One still cuts out red meat, pork, poultry, etc. from his or her diet like a vegetarian, but does not cut out fish and other seafood.”

When my friends, family, and co-workers found out I went pescetarian, they all asked (and continue to ask) why. Honestly, I had a hard time answering that question. I would typically answer by saying “I don’t know” or “It seemed like a good idea.” My favorite response was “I thought it would help me make healthier choices,” to which everyone obviously asked “Well, does it?” and I would come back to “I don’t know.” My reasoning made sense to me, but I had a hard time helping others understand. Until I stumbled across this wonderful article, titled “5 Reasons to Become a Pescetarian.” Sure, it may have been written in 2011, but three years later, these reasons still hold true. And here they are:

1. Pescetarianism may drastically improve your health.

Ok, from a diet standpoint, pizza, pasta and fried foods are still fair game. I’ve learned that making healthy choices is my own responsibility, and no new diet is going to permanently keep me away from french fries and donuts. BUT…

“A pescetarian diet may not only reduce your risk for heart disease and other cardiovascular diseases, but stroke, osteoporosis, obesity, diabetes, arthritis, high blood pressure and some types of cancer.”

2. Becoming a pescetarian benefits our planet.

Well who doesn’t want to benefit our planet, am I right?

3. I (the writer of the article, not me) believe you aren’t against animal cruelty unless you are some type of vegetarian.

I can’t say that I wholeheartedly agree with this one. Do I think people that eat meat are cool with animal cruelty? No. We are taught that eating meat is normal and that everyone needs the protein from meat to stay healthy. What we are not taught about is animal cruelty. I think we are unintentionally ignorant when it comes to animal cruelty, and it’s not our fault.

4. We aren’t natural carnivores.

“The omega-3 fatty acids that are in fish and seafood are necessary in the diet of a human being — fish is the only true source of the omega-3 acids DHA and EPA.”

5. Many successful individuals choose vegetarian or pescetarian diets.

You probably could have sold me on pescetarianism solely based on this one. Cue Drake “I just wanna be, I just wanna be successful…”

You can read about these reasons in more detail by going to the article. To all the people that asked me “why,” here’s my intelligent and factual (gosh, finally) response! Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

